NHS England announces results of latest Specialised Commissioning Prioritisation Process

NHS England has announced the treatments that are to receive funding as a result of the latest Specialised Commissioning Prioritisation Process, a pathway to reimbursement designed for certain high cost medicines and specialised services. The process is under the direct control of NHS England, who negotiate directly and independently of NICE.

The treatments, which were considered by the Clinical Priorities Advisory Group (CPAG), were grouped into five levels, and ordered according to their clinical benefit relative to incremental cost. The treatments which provided the most clinical benefit relative to cost were classified as Level 1, whereas treatments providing the least benefit were classified as Level 5.

The treatments assessed were:

Level 1

Level 2

Level 3

Level 4

Level 5

Of these treatments, there is sufficient funding to approve treatments in Levels 1-3, which will go on to be routinely available on the NHS. The remaining three treatments in Levels 4-5 can be considered in the next prioritisation round, which is due in November 2018.

To read more about the announcement, click here:

Tagged with

Published 11. July 2018 in News, News UK