NHS England announces the results of the first of two service prioritisation rounds

NHS England has announced that three new treatments and services will receive funding following the results of an independent clinical benefit and cost assessment performed by the Clinical Priorities Advisory Group (CPAG); CPAG consists of doctors, health experts and patient representatives. All the new proposed treatments were grouped into five levels of priority, with level one containing those with the higher clinical benefit and lower cost.

The three treatments/services were as follows:

Level 1: A specialised service for Stevens-Johnson syndrome and Toxic Epidermal Necrolysis (SJS-TEN) (all ages).

Level 2: Immediate antiretroviral therapy for treatment of HIV-1 in adults and adolescents.

Level 3: A specialised service for adults with primary ciliary dyskinesia.

Treatments and services will be made available from April for the 2018/19 financial year. It is estimated that 3000 patients will benefit from the new services in the first year and thousands more annually after that. The remaining treatments/services listed will be evaluated again at the second prioritisation round in May 2018.

To read more please click here.

To learn more please click here.

Tagged with

Published 18. December 2017 in News UK